Home Feedback Contents Search Your Privacy


Membership News Events Resources


The Greater Toronto Area (called the GTA by local residents) is the largest Metropolitan area in Canada

Toronto is Canada's largest city, North America's fifth largest, and the provincial capital of Ontario. (Geographical coordinates: 43 39 10 North Latitude, 79 23 0 West longitude,) Its population is 2,482,000 (Torontonians) (2003 Statistics Canada estimate); that of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) is 5,600,000 (2003). Approximately one third of the Canadian population lives within a two-hour drive of Toronto, and about one sixth of all Canadian jobs lie with the city limits. 

Municipalities in the Greater Toronto Area:

Municipality Population
Town of Ajax  76,000
Town of Aurora  40,000
City of Barrie  104,000
Town of Bradford-West Gwillimbury 22,000
City of Brampton  352,000
Township of Brock  12,000
City of Burlington  151,000
Town of Caledon  51,000
Municipality of Clarington  70,000
Town of East Gwillimbury   21,000
Town of Georgina  39,000
Town of Halton Hills  48,000
Town of Innisfil 29,000
Township of King 19,000
Town of Markham 209,000
Town of Milton 31,000
City of Mississauga 613,000
Town of Mono 7,000
Town of Newmarket 66,000
Town of New Tecumseth 26,000
Town of Oakville 145,000
Town of Orangeville 25,000
City of Oshawa 139,000
City of Pickering 87,000
Town of Richmond Hill 132,000
Township of Scugog 20,000
City of Toronto 2,484,000
Township of Uxbridge 17,000
City of Vaughan 182,000
Town of Whitby 87,000
Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville 22,000

©2004 Toronto Insurance Conference. All rights reserved.  Contact us via [email protected]